Each state can set its wage and hour policy, subject to federal limits. States are free to provide wage and hour benefits that exceed the federal minimum, but they cannot go below it. Tennessee is no exception. This post will go over Tennessee’s wage and hour laws and how may affect you.
The minimum wage in Tennessee is $7.25; it does not exceed the federal floor. Furthermore, Tennessee does not have a state overtime law, therefore, it adopts the federal rules which are time and a half for work that is over eight hours in a day and double for work that exceeds 12 hours. Additionally, if you work more than 40 hours in a week, you are entitled to time and a half for any excess time.
Tennessee permits children as young as 14 to work, but until they turn 16, they are limited to three hours a day and cannot work later than 7:00 PM during the school year. But, when school is out, they may work no more than eight hours a day, 40 hours a week, and no later than 9:00 PM.
Tennessee does not require employers give employees meals or breaks unless the employees are under 18.
If you believe your employer is not meeting the above-stated wage and hour rules then you may want to contact an attorney, you could have a valid employment claim. You are permitted to sue your employer for unpaid benefits, including cut hours and wages that are below the state or federal minimum. In these situations, you are entitled to lost wages and perhaps even damages that punish the employer for bad behavior. A lawyer can go over the specifics with you.